• c/o Winds of Hope Foundation 20 avenue de Florimont, 1006 Lausanne Suisse
  • +41 (0)21 320 77 22
  • info@nonoma.org

Studies, research and monitoring

« A child who dies of hunger is a child assassinated ». Jean Ziegler

Studies, research and monitoring

Etiological research

Gesnoma Travail en brousse-MR 1 373*250

Although noma is well known for the severity of its sequelae and the resultant surgical difficulties, its etiology is still unknown. Its risk factors (malnutrition, debilitating intercurrent diseases and poor oral hygiene) are common to almost all children in these disadvantaged areas. So it remains fundamentally important to promote research to identify the causes of the disease and why it affects some children rather than others.

The Geneva Study Group on Noma (GESNOMA) has set up an etiological research project on noma. This project is being carried out in Niger for fieldwork and in Geneva for laboratory analyses. In Niger, local staff have been employed and trained in diagnosis and sampling techniques.

The bacteriological analysis of gingival specimens, carried out by genetic tests, showed that noma is not associated with any specific bacterial agent or virus. It seems rather to result from an imbalance of oral bacterial flora on a predisposing background. Noma develops on pre-existing gingival lesions (necrotizing gingivitis).

A new phase of field research began in 2013 in Niger. This new component addresses the risk factors for necrotizing gingivitis and its prevalence in regions at risk for noma. This study will better target populations at risk and assess the implementation of measures to prevent gingivitis in order to avoid its evolution towards noma.

Epidemiological monitoring

Organizing and funding studies that will reveal how many are already affected, and how many are likely to be. The results will provide a more effective basis for targeting prevention.

Gesnoma-prelevements-373250

• c/o Winds of Hope Foundation 20 avenue de Florimont, 1006 Lausanne Suisse
  • +41 (0)21 320 77 22
  • info@nonoma.org

Etudes, recherche et surveillance

« Un enfant qui meurt de faim est un enfant assassiné. » Jean Ziegler

Etudes , recherches et surveillance

Recherche étiologique

Gesnoma Travail en brousse-MR 1 373*250

Si le noma est bien connu pour la gravité de ses séquelles et les difficultés chirurgicales qui en découlent son étiologie reste encore méconnue. Ses facteurs de risque (malnutrition, maladies intercurrentes débilitantes et mauvaise hygiène buccale) sont communs à presque la totalité des enfants de ces régions défavorisées. Il demeure donc fondamental de promouvoir la recherche pour identifier les causes de la maladie et pourquoi elle touche certains enfants plutôt que d’autres.

Le Geneva Study group on Noma  (GESNOMA) a mis sur pied un projet de recherche étiologique sur le noma. Ce projet se déroule au Niger en ce qui concerne le travail de terrain et à Genève pour les analyses du laboratoire. Au Niger, le personnel local engagé a été formé au diagnostic et aux techniques de prélèvement.

L’analyse bactériologique de prélèvements gingivaux, effectuée grâce à des tests génétiques, a montré que le noma n’est associé à aucun agent bactérien spécifique ni à aucun virus. Il résulterait d’un déséquilibre de la flore bactérienne buccale sur un terrain prédisposant. Le noma se développe sur une lésion gingivale préexistante (gingivite nécrosante).

Une nouvelle phase de recherche sur le terrain a débuté en 2013 au Niger. Ce nouveau volet s’intéresse aux facteurs de risque de la gingivite nécrosante et à sa prévalence dans les régions à risque pour le noma. Cette étude permettra de mieux cibler les populations à risque et d’évaluer la mise en place de mesures de prévention de la gingivite afin d’éviter son évolution vers le noma.

Surveillance épidémiologique

Organiser et financer les études qui permettront de savoir combien sont atteints, combien risquent de l’être. Les résultats fourniront une base plus efficace pour cibler les actions de prévention.

Gesnoma-prelevements-373250