• c/o Winds of Hope Foundation 20 avenue de Florimont, 1006 Lausanne Suisse
  • +41 (0)21 320 77 22
  • info@nonoma.org

Treatment

« We can’t change the whole world, but we can radically change the life of one person, and then another and then the next and yet another. » Dr Gary Parker

Treatment

Pre- and post-operative care

EPE P1010096373*280
  • Organizing pre- and post-operative care: This includes all aspects of caring for a patient who is going to undergo surgery, starting with reception; preoperative examinations (x-rays, blood tests); assessment of general state of health; implementation of any treatment needed (correction of nutritional deficiencies, de-worming, initiation of a good diet, hygiene); physical and psychological preparation for the operation; escorting patients to the operating theatre, and monitoring them as they come round in the recovery room; management of treatments / prescribed care (wound care, dressing, follow-up, etc.); treatment in the care home; maintaining care plan and health record. Besides nursing, entertainment and educational activities are often organized in parallel, the object of which is to allow patients to overcome their pain and anxiety (games and play activities, tutoring, hygiene and nutrition). Prior to accompanying a surgical mission, there is the whole logistical organization (recruitment of personnel, planning, meetings, organization of travel, accommodation of staff on the spot etc.) which will allow nurses, facilitators, and organizers – volunteers for the most part – to offer their time and skills to the patients who have undergone operations.
  • Training local staff to care for children on the spot: transferring skills, and coordinating work between healthcare teams so that the local nurses can take over when those who have come to the country with the surgical mission return home.

Surgical missions

  • Organizing surgical campaign missions to reconstruct very badly disfigured faces. Those suffering from less serious sequelae are given surgical treatment by local staff. Surgeons specializing in facial reconstruction travel out to Africa and collaborate with local surgeons to operate on the children. These missions are often characterized by rudimentary local conditions. The missions are intended for the treatment of cases with relatively little loss of tissue.
  • Severely disfigured children who require complex treatment that cannot be provided locally have to be referred, and their transportation overseas organized. Transfer abroad is justified when microsurgery, intensive care or multi-stage reconstruction is required. The conditions required then are reduced costs, short hospitalizations and a home for post-operative care. For example, from 1984 to 2013, 206 children with noma sequelae and 42 children with craniofacial malformations, congenital or acquired, were transferred and treated at the University Hospital of Geneva.
  • Establishing a specialized surgical treatment unit for the West African region. Significant emphasis is placed on teaching and knowledge transfer during surgical missions. Training courses are offered to local doctors. Medico-surgical centres are built in order to be able in the long term to restrict the number of children transferred, as this requires a complex organization.
mission chirurgicale 373*280

Individual Rehabilitation

IMG_1779

Rehabilitation encompasses all the methods used to restore the usage of a limb, organ or function in a person: massages, thermotherapy, active or passive mobility, sensory and tactile stimulation, stretching, etc. It must take into account all the parameters of the case-history (each patient having his own specific characteristics: type of sequelae, scar healing, personal experience, age, etc.) in order to restore lost functions and damaged organs. In the case of noma, the absence of rehabilitation increases the risk of recurrence of permanent constriction of the jaw. Under this heading, activities such as the following are included :

  • Rehabilitation of patients operated on for noma sequelae by means of appropriate treatment and physiotherapy
  • Organization and implementation of patient rehabilitation
  • Involvement of patients and families in post-operative care
  • Training of local healthcare teams in rehabilitation techniques so as to ensure long-term therapeutic follow-up
  • Wider dissemination of rehabilitative techniques

Reintegration into society and workplace

From the moment a child patient is discovered to the day when he has his face restored, and long after his return to his family, he has to be monitored to prevent him from falling back into pain and being forgotten. Individualized help for the child and his family, both medical and social care, is vitally important. This involves multiple activities :

  • Helping patients reintegrate into their families and communities
  • Organizing the follow-up of children in their families by social workers
  • Carrying out administrative procedures for putting children into school or obtaining social assistance
  • Giving professional training to cured former noma children
  • Providing assistance to victims and their families to avoid a relapse into poverty: medical aid, food, school and social assistance (housing, livestock or small business assistance (micro-credits))
  • Following up the individual aid decided upon according to the personal and family situation of each child, taking into account local conditions.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

• c/o Winds of Hope Foundation 20 avenue de Florimont, 1006 Lausanne Suisse
  • +41 (0)21 320 77 22
  • info@nonoma.org

Prendre en charge

« Nous ne pouvons pas changer le monde entier mais il nous est possible de changer radicalement l’existence d’une personne et d’une autre et de la suivante et encore une autre. » Dr Gary Parker

Prendre en charge

Soins pré et post opératoires

EPE P1010096373*280
  • organiser les soins pré et postopératoires : cela englobe tous les soins accompagnant le patient qui va subir une intervention chirurgicale : en commençant par son accueil, les examens préopératoires (radios, labo), l’évaluation  de son état de santé, la mise en oeuvre des mesures de soins (correction de carence, vermifuges, initiation à une bonne alimentation, hygiène), la préparation physique et psychologique pour l’opération, l’accompagnement au bloc opératoire, la récupération en salle de réveil, l’application et la gestion des traitements / soins prescrits (soins des plaies, pensements, suivi etc), l’accompagnement en  maison de soin, la tenue du plan de soin et carnet de santé etc. A côté des soins infirmiers, s’organisent souvent en parallèle, des activités d’animation dont l’objectif est de permettre aux patients de palier à leurs douleurs et leurs angoisses (animations ludiques, soutien scolaire, prévention hygiène et nutrition). En amont de l’accompagnement d’une mission chirurgicale, il y a toute l’organisation logistique (recrutement du personnel, planification, séances de rencontres, organisation des voyages, logement du personnel sur place etc) qui permettra aux infirmiers, infirmières, animateurs, animatrices bénévoles pour la plupart, d’offrir leur temps et compétences aux patients opérés.
  • former les personnels locaux pour soigner les enfants sur place : transférer les compétences, coordonner le travail entre les équipes soignantes afin que la relève soit garantie après le retour des infirmiers / infirmières venus  accompagner la mission chirurgicale.

Missions chirurgicales

  • organiser des missions chirurgicales pour reconstruire les visages atrocement défigurés : pour les séquelles les moins importantes les missions chirurgicales sont organisées sur place. Des chirurgiens spécialistes de la reconstruction faciale se déplacent à cette occasion et collaborent avec les chirurgiens locaux pour opérer les enfants. Ces missions sont souvent caractérisées par des conditions locales rudimentaires. Elles sont organisées pour des pertes de substances limitées.
  • les enfants sévèrement défigurés qui ont besoin de soins complexes ne pouvant être effectués localement doivent être référés, puis il faut organiser leur transport vers l’étranger. Le transfert est justifié lorsque sont nécessaires la microchirurgie, l’unité de soins intensifs ou la reconstruction en plusieurs étapes. Les conditions sont alors des coûts réduits, des hospitalisations courtes et une maison d’accueil pour les soins postopératoires. A titre d’exemple de 1984 à 2013, 206 enfants avec des séquelles de noma et 42 enfants avec des malformations craniofaciales, congénitales ou acquises, ont été transférés et traités à l’hôpital universitaire de Genève.
  • mettre en place un service de soins chirurgicaux spécialisés pour la région de l’Afrique de l’Ouest. Un accent important est accordé à l’enseignement et au transfert de connaissances à l’occasion des missions chirurgicales. Des stages de formation sont proposés aux médecins locaux. Des centres médico-chirurgicaux sont construits afin de pouvoir à terme limiter les transferts des enfants qui requièrent une organisation complexe.
mission chirurgicale 373*280

Réhabilitation personnelle

IMG_1779

La rééducation englobe l’ensemble des moyens mis en œuvre afin de rétablir l’usage d’un membre, organe ou d’une fonction chez une personne : massages, thermothérapie, mobilité active ou passive, stimulation sensorielle et tactile, étirements, etc. Elle doit prendre en compte tous les paramètres de l’atteinte (chaque patient ayant ses propres spécificités : type de séquelles, cicatrisation, vécu personnel, âge, etc.) afin de rétablir les fonctions et les organes perdus. Dans le cas du noma l’absence d’une rééducation augmente les risques d’une récidive de la constriction permanente de la mâchoire. Dans ce domaine vont se retrouver les activités telles que :

  • la réhabilitation des patients opérés des séquelles du noma par des soins et une physiothérapie adaptée
  • l’organisation et la mise en place de la rééducation des patients
  • l’implication des patients et des familles dans les soins postopératoires
  • la formation à la rééducation des équipes soignantes locales pour garantir un suivi thérapeutique à long terme
  • la diffusion des techniques rééducatives

Réinsertion sociale et professionnelle

De la découverte de l’enfant jusqu’au moment de lui restituer son visage d’enfant, et longtemps après son retour dans sa famille, il faut veiller sur lui pour éviter qu’il ne retombe dans la douleur et l’oubli . Un accompagnement individualisé tant sur le plan personnel et familial, que médical et social est vital. Cela implique de multiples activités :

  • aider les patients à réintégrer leurs familles et communautés
  • organiser le suivi des enfants au sein de leurs familles par les assistants sociaux
  • effectuer les démarches administratives pour scolariser les enfants ou obtenir des aides sociales
  •  former professionnellement des enfants réparés du noma
  • fournir des aides aux victimes et leurs familles pour leur éviter une rechute dans la misère : aides médicales, alimentaires, scolaires et sociales (aide au logement, à l’élevage ou aides pour monter un petit commerce (microcrédits)
  • faire le suivi des aides individuelles décidées selon la situation personnelle et familiale de chaque enfant en tenant compte des conditions locales.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA