• c/o Winds of Hope Foundation 20 avenue de Florimont, 1006 Lausanne Suisse
  • +41 (0)21 320 77 22
  • info@nonoma.org

Treat

« It seems unthinkable to allow these children to carry on living in this state of mutilation, when we have the means of repairing the damage, if only partially...» Denys Montandon,
 Leprosy and noma surgeon
 (Extract translated from Médecine et Hygiène, 49: 2532-2536, 1991)

Treat

Initial treatment

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Noma is not an inevitable fate, but it remains a little-known disease. The best ways of preventing it are good nutrition adapted to the requirements of young children, and good oral hygiene (which makes it possible in particular to avoid gum ulcers and especially the ulcero-necrotic gingivitis that leads to noma). That is why it remains essential to inform at-risk populations about ways of preventing and detecting the first symptoms, and the need for an affected child to receive treatment as a matter of urgency.

When the disease is detected in time, topical forms of treatment (disinfectant mouthwashes, antiseptics etc.) accompanied by antibiotic therapy are enough to stop it in one or two weeks. This initial treatment must then be reinforced by nutritional therapy (food and vitamin supplements) and rehydration.

If diagnosed in time and actively treated during the initial phase, many children with noma could be cared for and cured without having to suffer the disastrous sequelae.

Obstacles to initial treatment

On-the-spot treatment of “initial stage” noma cases frequently comes up against insurmountable problem :

  • The extent of medical treatment available is closely linked to the state of the national economy
  • Children affected are all from very disadvantaged social backgrounds, unable to obtain the medicines needed for their treatment
  • The public services designed to help them (notably hospital pharmacies) are often underfunded.
  • Even when emergency treatment can be provided, there is still the question of how to provide on-going care the next day
Poids Fassouma
  • Nutritional rehabilitation, vital for the child’s recovery, is often unavailable, and here again hospitals are often unable to provide the balanced meals required by the child’s condition
  • Hospitalization of children is itself difficult. The close-packed nature of hospital wards does not favor cohabitation between a children suffering from noma and other patients, given the degree of septicity and the foul odor still present in the acute stage.

Noma sequelae and plastic surgery

Facial reconstructive surgery is possible but it takes a long time, involving a series of expensive operations. Moreover, it can often be carried out only in countries far away from where the disease occurs. Therefore, prevention rather than restorative surgery should be the primary objective of health programs.

Restorative surgery can only be performed when the initial illness has been completely stabilized. Only a minority of children, some of whom are horrifically mutilated – unable to eat properly, their jaws locked together, and sometimes completely lacking a nose, lips, cheeks or even eyelids – will benefit from these operations.

This is not curative surgery, saving or prolonging lives, but rather rehabilitation surgery. In many cases, it can help to preserve a patient’s vision, give him the opportunity to use his hands again, and in other cases make him look more like a human being again.

NM847_copyright_YvanMuriset

Obstacles to plastic surgery

Here too, numerous obstacles remain :

  • No operation can be carried out with a general anesthetic,
  • All reconstruction work has to be carried out in the more or less septic environment surrounding the mouth, nose and maxillary sinuses,
  • You cannot rely on a small child to collaborate actively with exercises in opening the mouth,
  • Reconstructions require the combination of a series of delicate surgical techniques: bone transplants ; skin and mucous tissue transplants; skin, muscle, and musculocutaneous flaps, as well as free flaps, by microsurgery, etc.
  • When carried out on children, these procedures don not necessarily keep pace with facial growth. So further surgery might be necessary in adulthood.
copyright_YvanMuriset copie

• c/o Winds of Hope Foundation 20 avenue de Florimont, 1006 Lausanne Suisse
  • +41 (0)21 320 77 22
  • info@nonoma.org

Soigner

« Il paraît impensable de laisser ces enfants survivre avec de telles mutilations, si on possède les moyens de les corriger même partiellement... » Denys Montandon
 Chirurgie de la lèpre et du noma
 (Extrait de Médecine et Hygiène, 49: 2532-2536, 1991)

Soigner

Premiers soins

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Le noma n’est pas une fatalité mais reste une maladie méconnue. La meilleure des préventions restant une alimentation adaptée aux besoins du jeune enfant et une bonne hygiène buccale (ce qui permet notamment d’éviter les ulcérations des gencives et tout spécialement la gingivite ulcéro-nécrotique conduisant au noma) il demeure primordial d’informer les populations touchées des moyens de prévention et de détection des premiers symptômes, ainsi que de la nécessité d’apporter des soins urgents à l’enfant.

Lorsque la maladie est détectée à temps, des soins locaux (bains de bouche désinfectants, antiseptiques etc.) accompagnés d’une antibiothérapie suffisent à l’enrayer en une à deux semaines. Ces premiers soins doivent être accompagnés de traitements de réalimentation (compléments nutritionnels et vitaminiques) et de réhydratation.

Détectés à temps, et traités activement durant la phase initiale, beaucoup d’enfants atteints de noma pourraient être soignés et guéris, sans devoir subir le désastre des séquelles.

Obstacles aux premiers soins

La prise en charge sur place, en phase de “noma frais”, se heurte fréquemment à des problèmes insurmontables :

  • les limites du traitement médical sont étroitement liées à l’état des économies nationales
  • les enfants sont tous issus de milieux sociaux très défavorisés, incapables de se procurer les médicaments nécessaires à leur traitement
  • les services publics appelés à leur venir en aide (notamment les pharmacies d’hôpitaux) sont souvent démunis.
  • lorsque les soins d’urgence peuvent être dispensés, se pose encore la question de savoir comment assurer les soins du lendemain
Poids Fassouma
  • la récupération nutritionnelle, vitale à l’enfant, n’est souvent pas réalisable, et là encore, l’hôpital se trouve bien souvent dans l’incapacité de fournir les repas équilibrés que nécessite son état
  • l’hospitalisation des enfants est elle-même difficile. La promiscuité des chambres hospitalières ne facilite pas la cohabitation entre un petit porteur de noma et les autres malades, compte tenu du degré de septicité et de l’odeur fétide toujours présente en phase aiguë

Séquelles du noma et chirurgie plastique

La reconstruction chirurgicale du visage est possible mais elle est longue et implique une série d’opérations qui coûtent cher. De plus, bien souvent elle ne peut se pratiquer que dans des pays éloignés des lieux où sévit la maladie. Prévention plutôt que chirurgie réparatrice, tel doit être le premier objectif des programmes de santé.

La chirurgie réparatrice ne peut être effectuée que lorsque la maladie initiale est tout à fait stabilisée. Seule une minorité d’enfants parfois dramatiquement mutilés, ne pouvant plus s’alimenter correctement, ayant les mâchoires soudées avec parfois une absence complète du nez, des lèvres, des joues ou même des paupières pourront bénéficier de ces opérations.

Il ne s’agit pas d’une chirurgie à visée curative, permettant de sauver ou de prolonger des vies, mais plutôt d’une chirurgie de réhabilitation. Elle peut permettre dans bien des cas de préserver la vue d’un patient, de lui redonner la possibilité d’utiliser ses mains, et dans d’autres cas de lui redonner une apparence humaine.

NM847_copyright_YvanMuriset

Obstacles à la chirurgie plastique

Ici encore les obstacles restent nombreux :

  • aucune intervention ne peut être pratiquée sans anesthésie générale
  • toutes les reconstructions sont pratiquées dans un milieu plus ou moins septique au niveau de la bouche, du nez et des sinus maxillaires
  • il est difficile de compter sur la collaboration active d’un petit enfant pour des exercices d’ouverture de la bouche
  • Les reconstructions requièrent la combinaison d’une série de techniques chirurgicales délicates: greffes osseuses, greffes de peau et de muqueuse, lambeaux cutanés, musculaires, musculo-cutanés, lambeaux libres par microchirurgie, etc.
  • Quand elles sont effectuées chez un enfant elles ne suivent pas forcément la croissance faciale. Il sera peut être nécessaire de refaire un geste chirurgical à l’âge adulte.
copyright_YvanMuriset copie