• c/o Winds of Hope Foundation 20 avenue de Florimont, 1006 Lausanne Suisse
  • +41 (0)21 320 77 22
  • info@nonoma.org

Prevent

« It’s easier to build solid children than to repair broken adults. » A.Douglas

Prevent

Detection and Raising Awareness

Once the disease has reached the stage of necrosis, faces can only be the repaired at the cost of long, painful and expensive surgical operations, and these can only benefit a very limited number of victims.

Prevention is the most effective way to fight noma – before it starts, or at the very first signs of the disease. It also makes it possible to mobilize the entire population of a country with a strict minimum of resources.

Establish simple, multipurpose prevention programs that are useful and accessible to the greatest number of people, and aimed at :

  • providing the population of remote and disadvantaged areas with basic education on hygiene and initial treatment,
  • giving nutritional advice to mothers,
  • preventing shortcomings that may lead to the emergence of noma,
  • learning to recognize the early symptoms of the disease,
  • providing first aid capable of stopping the disease,
  • combating the deep-seated belief that noma is a curse that cannot be cured, and,
  • training local and community health personnel.
Burkina08-prevention-boitaImages-ajuste-e1425485193342
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Having in each village a person capable of detecting the very early symptoms of noma means that a whole village is protected not only against noma, but also against many other infections that are due to lack of hygiene and malnutrition. So a health worker is trained in each village who knows how to prevent and detect noma. He or she educates and trains the community and any already existing health personnel in the prevention and early detection of noma as well as in primary health care.

Raising the awareness of people living in extreme poverty opens the doors for village families to better hygiene and a balanced diet. These basic concepts are very effective not only against noma but also against infectious diseases. Widespread support should therefore be given to WHO’s national programs and those of the humanitarian organizations that are working in this direction.

Endemic dysfunctions

Noma is a serious disease the cure for which extends beyond the medical world, since its determinants are essentially socio-economic (extreme poverty leading to severe malnutrition).

The discussion has to be shifted from the medical field to the political field. It is important to establish close tripartite collaboration between local civil society stakeholders, NGOs active in the field and government ministries, so as to cause them to take urgent measures to reduce the serious dysfunctions in their countries (lack of access to food, drinking water, health care and education).

Any initiative aimed at improving these abuses of the rights of the most disadvantaged populations is an effective preventive action in the fight against noma.

PB146961.ORF

• c/o Winds of Hope Foundation 20 avenue de Florimont, 1006 Lausanne Suisse
  • +41 (0)21 320 77 22
  • info@nonoma.org

Prévenir

« Il est plus facile de construire des enfants solides que de réparer des adultes brisés. » A.Douglas

Prévenir

Détection et sensibilisation

Une fois la maladie arrivée au stade de la nécrose, la réparation des visages ne pourra se faire qu’au prix d’opérations chirurgicales longues, douloureuses et onéreuses, dont ne pourront bénéficier qu’un nombre très restreints de victimes.

La prévention reste la manière la plus efficace de combattre le noma avant son apparition ou dès les premiers signes de la maladie. Elle permet en outre de mobiliser toute la population d’un pays avec un minimum de moyens.

Mettre en place des programmes de prévention simples à fort effet multiplicateur, utiles et accessibles au plus grand nombre visant à :

  • donner à la population de régions isolées et défavorisées les bases d’une éducation à l’hygiène et aux soins élémentaires,
  • apporter aux mères des conseils en nutrition,
  • prévenir les déséquilibres pouvant conduire à l’apparition du noma,
  • apprendre à reconnaître les premiers symptômes de la maladie,
  • prodiguer des premiers soins capables de stopper la maladie,
  • combattre les croyances ancrées qui voient dans le noma une malédiction impossible à soigner et,
  • assurer une formation du personnel sanitaire local et communautaire.
Burkina08-prevention-boitaImages-ajuste-e1425485193342
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Avoir dans chaque village une personne capable de détecter les tous premiers symptômes du noma, c’est tout un village qui est protégé non seulement contre le noma mais aussi contre de nombreuses autres infections dues au manque d’hygiène et à la malnutrition. Un agent de santé est ainsi formé dans chaque village et sait comment prévenir et détecter le noma; Il éduque et forme sa communauté et, éventuellement, le personnel de santé existant à la prévention et à la détection précoce du noma ainsi qu’aux soins de santé primaire.

Permettre la sensibilisation des populations vivant dans la pauvreté extrême, c’est ouvrir une porte aux familles villageoises à une meilleure hygiène et à un équilibre alimentaire. Ces notions de base sont très efficaces non seulement contre le noma mais aussi contre les maladies infectieuses. Il faut donc encourager à grande échelle les programmes nationaux de l’OMS et ceux des organisations humanitaires qui vont dans ce sens.

Dysfonctionnements endémiques

Le noma est une grave maladie dont les solutions dépassent le monde médical puisque ses déterminants sont essentiellement socio-économiques (pauvreté extrême induisant une malnutrition sévère).

La problématique doit être déplacée du terrain médical vers le terrain politique. Il est important de mettre en place d’étroites collaborations tripartites entre les parties civiles locales, les ONG actives sur le terrain, et les ministères des gouvernement pour les amener à prendre des mesures urgentes visant à réduire les graves dysfonctionnements de leurs pays ( non accès à : l’alimentation, l’eau potable, aux soins de santé et à l’éducation).

Toute initiative visant une amélioration des ces atteintes aux droits des populations les plus défavorisées est une action efficace de prévention dans la lutte contre le noma.

PB146961.ORF