• c/o Winds of Hope Foundation 20 avenue de Florimont, 1006 Lausanne Suisse
  • +41 (0)21 320 77 22
  • info@nonoma.org

Context

« Because of its non-transferable nature, noma is not a priority for anyone. Because of its direct link with malnutrition and lack of hygiene, it appears to be an insoluble problem. And yet it is a symbol: the symbol of our imbalanced world, divided between a society of conspicuous consumption and wastage, and populations of starving people, between ultra-sophisticated technologies and total destitution. » Bertrand Piccard

Context

History

Suivi domicile BF

In antiquity, Noma was already familiar to doctors such as Hippocrates, Galen, Celsus and Aretaeus of Cappadocia. In Europe, many texts from the 18th and 19th centuries in France, Germany, Poland, Sweden, the Netherlands, Great Britain and Spain mention this disease. Noma cases were also described in the United States in 1826 and 1848. In his dissertation of 1848, “Noma, or sphacellum of the mouth in children”, Jules Tourdes of the Faculty of Medicine in Strasbourg defined noma as a “gangrene that starts in the mouth, and mainly affects children whose general health is weakened by poor hygiene and severe infantile diseases such as eruptive fevers. The attack begins with a mucous ulcer associated with edema of the face and then spreads rapidly from inside to outside, destroying soft tissues and bone. It is almost always fatal”.

In the 20th century, with outbreaks of famine disappearing and good hygiene developing, noma disappeared from the industrialized countries, with the exception of the cases described in the Nazi concentration camps of Auschwitz and Belsen. The campaign led by Edmond Kaiser and Yvan Muriset, founders of Sentinelles, was instrumental in the making people aware that noma had not disappeared everywhere. It was in 1989, at the General Assembly of the World Health Organization (WHO), that noma was put on the international agenda for the first time. In 1992, a major step forward was taken when WHO adopted a strategy and plan of action to combat noma. This was followed in 1994 by the recognition of noma as a public health problem and the establishment of an international program to combat noma, supported by the creation of an “International Network for Action against Noma” (RIACN), which was made responsible for monitoring this program.

Edmond Kaiser
Suivi en brousse / Sentinelles Niger

In the absence of funding and, unfortunately, also lack of interest on the part of the international community, WHO had to put its program on hold and hand over responsibility to the WHO Regional Office for Africa (WHO/Afro). Only local, privately funded campaigns continued to be carried out, thanks in particular to the NGOs Sentinelles, Hilfsaktion, Campaner, Au Fil de la Vie, Hymne aux Enfants and Enfants du noma. Several surgical missions carried out by volunteer specialists enabled dozens of children to have operations.It was not until 2000 that the intervention of the Winds of Hope Foundation resulted in the revival of the national noma programs initially planned by WHO. Following the successful completion of an experimental pilot project in Niger, the Foundation signed a five-year collaboration agreement with WHO in 2003 to expand its operations in Burkina Faso and Mali, followed by Benin, Togo and Senegal.

Epidemiological monitoring

Reliable data on the number of noma cases is hard to find, given the precarious nature of the health and civil record-keeping systems in the countries where the disease occurs.

The annual distribution of new cases shows that climatic factors play a role. There is a recrudescence during the dry season, renamed the “month of hunger” by some researchers. Another factor that makes it difficult to collect data is that most victims will not have time to arrive in healthcare facilities before succumbing to the disease. So the situation is in fact much worse than it seems.

The annual distribution of new cases shows that climatic factors play a role. There is a recrudescence during the dry season, renamed the “month of hunger” by some researchers. Another factor that makes it difficult to collect data is that most victims will not have time to arrive in healthcare facilities before succumbing to the disease. So the situation is in fact much worse than it seems :

  • 
More than 100,000 children are affected by noma every year. The victims are almost all children aged between 6 months and 6 years. In the absence of treatment, noma is fatal in more than 70 to 90% of cases. A reasonable estimate would be about 80,000 deaths a year.
  • 
20’000 children a year survive noma, but then live hidden away.
  • There are 500,000 noma survivors currently alive in the world.
  • The poorest countries in Africa, Asia and South America are affected and the African continent is hardest hit, with 80% of the cases.
  • Noma, which today is endemic in many African countries, has reached the proportions of a public health problem, especially in certain populations of the Sahel region, a region also designated by some as the «noma belt».
  • Noma is reported to be on the rise in Africa, in common with most oral diseases. This is due to a general deterioration in living conditions: malnutrition, poor hygiene, HIV / AIDS, conflict, corruption, etc..
  • Noma reappears sporadically in developed countries. Its emergence there is linked to factors such as HIV / AIDS.
This study is based on the only existing available statistics, which were established more than 10 years ago by WHO. Further studies would be desirable.

Studies and research

Gesnoma Labo LCV2 373*368

There is still only very limited literature and research on noma. However, what exists has established that the first symptoms often develop after a child has had an infectious disease, or in a child suffering from malnutrition.

Recent research by GESNOMA (Prof. Denis Montandon and Dr. Denise Baratti-Mayer of the University Hospital of Geneva) has shown that noma is caused by a sharp drop in immune defenses, the origin of which lies in the mother’s state of malnutrition and fatigue during pregnancy, in the presence numerous siblings.

Thesis by Dr Denise Baratti Mayer – Study on etiology of noma

An etiological research project was carried out by the Geneva foundation GESNOMA, to establish whether a specific bacterial or viral agent could be the cause of the disease. The answer was negative – the appearance of noma is not linked to any specific bacterium or virus.

This research was the subject of an article in The Lancet::
 Risk factors for noma disease: a 6-years, prospective, matched case-control, study in Niger

• c/o Winds of Hope Foundation 20 avenue de Florimont, 1006 Lausanne Suisse
  • +41 (0)21 320 77 22
  • info@nonoma.org

Contexte

« En raison de son caractère non transmissible, le noma n'est une priorité pour personne. En raison de son lien direct avec la malnutrition et le manque d'hygiène, il apparaît comme un problème insoluble. Et pourtant c'est un symbole : le symbole du déséquilibre dans lequel évolue notre monde clivé entre société de gaspillage et populations affamées, entre technologies ultra-sophistiquées et dénuement total. » Bertrand Piccard

Contexte

Historique

Suivi domicile BF

Le noma était déjà connu dans l’Antiquité de médecins comme Hippocrate, Galien, Celse et Aretaeus de Cappadoce. En Europe, de nombreux textes des 18e et 19e siècles mentionnent cette maladie en France, en Allemagne, en Pologne, en Suède, aux Pays-Bas, en Grande-Bretagne et en Espagne. Des cas de noma ont également été décrits aux États-Unis en 1826 et 1848. Jules Tourdes de la Faculté de Médecine de Strasbourg a défini en 1848 le noma comme une « gangrène à point de départ buccal, touchant essentiellement les enfants dont l’état général est affaibli par une mauvaise hygiène, des maladies infantiles sévères telles que les fièvres éruptives ; l’atteinte commence par un ulcère muqueux associé à un œdème de la face puis s’étend rapidement de dedans en dehors détruisant tissus mous et os et est presque toujours fatale » dans sa dissertation « Du noma ou du sphacèle de la bouche chez les enfants ».

Au 20e siècle, avec la disparition des épisodes de famine et le développement de l’hygiène, le noma a disparu des pays industrialisés, à l’exception des cas décrits dans les camps de concentration nazis d’Auschwitz et de Belsen. L’action d’Edmond Kaiser et d’Yvan Muriset, fondateurs de Sentinelles, aura été essentielle dans la prise de conscience que le noma n’avait pas partout disparu. C’est en 1989, lors de l’Assemblée générale de l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS), que le noma sera pour la première fois mis à l’ordre du jour de l’agenda international. En 1992, un grand pas est franchi avec l’adoption par l’OMS d’une stratégie et d’un plan d’action de lutte contre le noma. S’en suivra en 1994 la reconnaissance du noma comme problème de santé publique et la mise en place d’un programme international de lutte contre le noma soutenu par la création d’un réseau international d’action contre le noma (RIACN) responsable du suivi de ce programme.

Edmond Kaiser
Suivi en brousse / Sentinelles Niger

Faute de financement et, malheureusement aussi, faute d’intérêt de la part de la communauté internationale, l’OMS a dû mettre son programme en veilleuse et en reléguer la responsabilité au Bureau régional de l’OMS pour l’Afrique (OMS/Afro). Seules des actions locales continuèrent à être menées avec des fonds privés, en particulier grâce aux ONG Sentinelles, Hilfsaktion, Campaner, Au Fil de la Vie, Hymne aux Enfants et Enfants du noma. Plusieurs missions chirurgicales menées par des spécialistes bénévoles permirent d’opérer des dizaines d’enfants.
 Ce n’est qu’en 2000 que l’intervention de la Fondation Winds of Hope permit de relancer les programmes nationaux de lutte contre le noma initialement planifiés par l’OMS. Après le succès d’une phase expérimentale au Niger, la Fondation a signé avec l’OMS en 2003 un accord de collaboration sur 5 ans pour étendre l’action au Burkina Faso et au Mali, puis au Bénin au Togo et au Sénégal.

Survéillance épidémiologique

Il n’existe que peu de données fiables disponibles sur le nombre de cas compte tenu de la précarité des systèmes de santé et de registres civiles des pays où survient le noma.

La répartition annuelle des nouveaux cas montre que les facteurs climatiques jouent un rôle. On observe une recrudescence pendant la saison sèche, rebaptisée le mois de la faim par certains chercheurs. Un autre facteur rend difficile le rassemblement de données : la plupart des victimes n’auront pas le temps d’arriver dans les centres de soins avant de succomber à la maladie. La situation est nettement bien plus dramatique qu’elle n’y paraît.

La Fondation Winds of Hope a partiellement financé une étude épidémiologique de la maladie du noma en Afrique. Elle a été exécutée par l’OMS/Afro et ses résultats publiés en 2008 ont montré que :

  • 
Plus de 100 000 enfants sont touchés par le noma chaque année. Les victimes sont pratiquement toutes des enfants entre 6 mois et 6 ans. En absence de traitement, le noma est mortel dans plus de 70 à 90% des cas. On peut parler de 80 000 morts par an.
  • 
20 000 enfants par an survivent au noma, mais vivent ensuite cachés.
  • 500’000 survivants au noma vivent actuellement dans le monde.
  • Les pays les plus pauvres d’Afrique, d’Asie et d’Amérique du Sud sont affectés et le continent africain est le plus durement touché avec 80% des cas.
  • Aujourd’hui, le noma, endémique dans de nombreux pays africains, a atteint les proportions d’un problème de santé publique, surtout dans certaines populations de la région du Sahel, une région aussi désignée par certains comme la «ceinture du noma».
  • Le noma serait en augmentation en Afrique comme la plupart des maladies bucco-dentaires, dû à une détérioration générale des conditions de vie : malnutrition, mauvaise hygiène, VIH/SIDA, conflits, corruption, etc.
  • Le noma réapparaît sporadiquement dans des pays développés où cette émergence serait liée à des facteurs tels que le VIH/SIDA.
Cette étude est basée sur les seules statistiques disponibles existantes qui ont été établies il y a déjà plus de 10 ans par l’OMS. De nouvelles études seraient souhaitables.

Etudes et recherche

Gesnoma Labo LCV2 373*368

La littérature et les recherches sur le noma sont encore très limitées. Elles ont cependant permis de constater que les premiers signes se développent souvent après une maladie infectieuse ou chez un enfant qui souffre de malnutrition.

Les recherches récentes de GESNOMA (Prof Denis Montandon et Drsse Denise Baratti-Mayer de l’Hôpital Universitaire de Genève) ont montré que le noma est causé par une forte baisse des défenses immunitaires dont l’origine se trouve, pendant sa grossesse, dans l’état de malnutrition et de fatigue de la mère en présence de grandes fratries.

Thèse de la Dresse Denise Baratti Mayer – Étude sur l’étiologie du noma

Une recherche étiologique a été menée par la fondation genevoise GESNOMA, pour établir si un agent bactérien ou viral spécifique pourrait être à l’origine de la maladie. La réponse a été négative : l’apparition du noma n’est liée à aucune bactérie ni virus spécifique.

Ces recherches ont fait l’objet d’un article dans The Lancet:
 Risk factors for noma disease: a 6-year, prospective, matched case-control, study in Niger