• c/o Winds of Hope Foundation 20 avenue de Florimont, 1006 Lausanne Suisse
  • +41 (0)21 320 77 22
  • info@nonoma.org

The disease

« When we first hear its name, we do not know what it is. When we hear it described, we cannot believe what we hear. And when we see it with our own eyes, we will never be the same again. Noma is a disease that not only leaves indelible scars on the faces of its tiny victims but also on the minds of those who witness it. The shame of not knowing about it earlier, the horror that such a thing is possible in the 21st century, the incomprehension that so few humanitarian organizations are tackling it. » Bertrand Piccard.

 

The disease

Bassirou 373*280

Understand

Noma is a rapidly advancing gangrene that develops in the mouth. It starts with a benign lesion but ends up ravaging the facial tissues in an atrocious way. It affects mainly children aged 2 to 6 years and appears to be caused by a combination of poor hygiene, malnutrition, and a weakened immune system. The epicenter of the disease lies in Sub-Saharan Africa, the poorest region in the world.

Simple mouthwashes, vitamin supplements and antibiotics are enough to stop noma if it is detected in time. In the absence of treatment, 80% -90% of children die. Those that survive will never again be able to speak, eat or breathe normally.

Read more
IMG_1301

Prevent

The best preventive measures are food suitable for the child’s needs and good oral hygiene. So the most effective ways of combating noma before it even emerges remain to sensitize populations to noma, and set up simple prevention programs accessible to the greatest number.

Another way of contributing to an effective campaign against noma is to encourage governments – in collaboration with local civil society and NGOs active in the field – to take action to remedy malfunctions such as lack of access to food, drinking water, health care and education.

Read more
Project Harar Picture9

Treat

If diagnosed in time and actively treated, many children could be cured, and so avoid having to suffer the disastrous noma sequelae. There are serious obstacles to administering first aid, such as: poor public services and impoverished social environments; nutritional recovery hard to achieve; hospitalization of children complex.

Once the disease is stabilized, surgical reconstruction is possible, but it is expensive and involves a series of operations. Only a minority of children will benefit. The geographical remoteness of surgical sites, the risks arising from general anesthesia, the complexity of the surgical techniques required and the children’s facial growth are among the challenges to such surgical reconstruction work.

Read more
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Context

Noma was known to doctors in antiquity. In industrialized countries, noma only disappeared in the 20th century with the end of periods of famine and the development of hygiene. It was only put on the international agenda for discussion in 1989 thanks to the commitment of Edmond Kaiser and Yvan Muriset (founders of Sentinelles).

In 2006, an epidemiological study carried out by WHO Afro showed that: more than 100,000 children were affected each year, with a mortality rate of 70-90%. The African continent is the hardest hit, with 80 per cent of all cases.

Research into noma is very limited in scope, but it has found that noma is caused by a sharp decline in immune defenses originating during the mother’s pregnancy, and that there are no bacterial agents or viruses to be held responsible.

Read more

• c/o Winds of Hope Foundation 20 avenue de Florimont, 1006 Lausanne Suisse
  • +41 (0)21 320 77 22
  • info@nonoma.org

Maladie

« Quand on entend son nom pour la première fois, on ne sait pas de quoi il s’agit. Quand on en entend la description, on n’arrive pas y croire. Et quand on le voit de ses propres yeux, on ne peut plus jamais l’oublier. Le noma est une maladie qui ne laisse pas seulement des cicatrices indélébiles sur le visage de ses petites victimes, mais également dans l’esprit de ceux qui la croisent : la honte de n’avoir pas su plus tôt, l’horreur que cela soit encore possible au 21ème siècle, l’incompréhension que si peu d’organisations humanitaires s’en occupent. » Bertrand Piccard.

 

La maladie

Bassirou 373*280

Connaître

Le noma est une gangrène foudroyante qui se développe dans la bouche en commençant par une lésion bénigne pour finir par ravager atrocement le visage.  Il touche principalement les enfants de 2 à 6 ans et semble être causé par la conjonction d’un manque d’hygiène, d’une malnutrition, et d’un système immunitaire fragilisé. L’épicentre de la maladie se situe en Afrique Sub-Saharienne, région la plus pauvre du monde.

De simples bains de bouches, une réalimentation vitaminique et des antibiotiques suffisent à enrayer le noma s’il est détecté à temps. En l’absence de traitement, 80%-90% des enfants en meurent quant aux survivants, plus jamais ils ne pourront parler, se nourrir ou respirer normalement.

Lire plus
IMG_1301

Prévenir

La meilleure des préventions reste une alimentation adaptée aux besoins de l’enfant et une bonne hygiène buccale. Sensibiliser  les populations au noma, mettre en place des programmes de prévention simples et accessibles au plus grand nombre restent les moyens les plus efficaces de  combattre le noma avant son apparition.

Amener les gouvernements, en collaboration avec les parties civiles locales et  les ONG actives sur le terrain à prendre des mesures pour réduire les dysfonctionnements tel que les non accès à : l’alimentation, l’eau potable, les soins de santé et l’éducation contribue également à lutter efficacement contre le noma.

Lire plus
Project Harar Picture9

Soigner

Détectés à temps, et soignés activement beaucoup d’enfants pourraient être guéris sans devoir subir le désastre des séquelles. La prise en charge des premiers soins se heurte à de graves obstacles tels que :  pauvreté des services publiques,  et des milieux sociaux, récupération nutritionnelle difficile à réaliser, hospitalisation des enfants complexe.

Une fois la maladie stabilisée, la reconstruction chirurgicale est possible mais elle coûte cher et implique une série d’opérations. Seule une minorité d’enfants pourront en bénéficier. L’éloignement géographique des lieux opératoires, les risques découlant des anesthésies générales, la complexité des techniques chirurgicales requises et la croissance faciale des enfants sont autant d’obstacles à ces reconstructions chirurgicales.

Lire plus
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Contexte

Le noma était connu des médecins de l’Antiquité. Dans les pays industrialisés, le noma ne disparaît qu’ au 20ème siècle avec la dispariton des épisodes de famine et le développement de l’hygiène. Il n’est mis à l’ordre du jour de l’agenda international qu’en 1989 grâce à l’engagement d’Edmond Kaiser et d’ Yvan Muriset (fondateurs de Sentinelles).

En 2006, une étude épidémiologique réalisée par l’OMS Afro montre que: + de 100’000 enfants touchés/ an, 70-90% en meurent, le continent africain est le plus durement touché avec 80% des cas.

Les recherches sur le noma sont très limitées mais elles ont permis de constater que le noma est causé par une forte baisse des défenses immunitaires s’originant dans la grossesse de la mère et qu’il n’y a aucun agent bactérien ou virus responsable du noma.

Lire plus