• c/o Winds of Hope Foundation 20 avenue de Florimont, 1006 Lausanne Suisse
  • +41 (0)21 320 77 22
  • info@nonoma.org

General meetings and Round Tables

« The right to food is a human right. Noma is a violation of the right to food. We are trying to obtain a resolution with normative value from the Human Rights Council declaring noma as a violation of human rights. This normative basis is necessary to combat noma effectively. » Jean Ziegler

General Meetings and Round Tables

Origin

For several years now, the Winds of Hope Foundation has been financing and organizing round tables that bring together all associations fighting noma. Some thirty member organizations of the NoNoma Federation meet every year for two days to create synergies and strengthen their respective activities in the fields of prevention, detection, research, medical and surgical tretament, rehabilitation and reintegration.

Annual General Meetings and Round Tables could not be held without funding from the Winds of Hope Foundation’s partners: Breitling and Victorinox. We thank them warmly for their unfailing support.

History

  • 23-24 September 2016: 14th General Assembly with 34 associations present, and 15th Round Table with the presence of Terre des Hommes for the first time. One new active member, With Mali / Jura and one new associate member New Face. Highlights of the meeting: Presentation of the Terre des Hommes mobile health tool; the Médecins Sans Frontières retrospective on their experience and expectations in the fight against noma; the situation report for Niger given by Sentinelles Niger’s responsible person in the field: the laying of the first bricks of the maternity center on the threshold of the Sahel; the key role played by traditional healers in treating noma in Mali.
  • 25-26 September 2015: 13th General Assembly (minutes in french) and 14th Roundtable (minutes in french), with the presence for the first time of the Red Cross and « la Chaîne de l’ Espoir » which has now become a new partner member of the Federation. The highlights of this meeting were: Sentinelles’ surgical mission hosted by Persis; Sentinelles’ activities in Burkina Faso; the maternity project on the edge of the Sahel; evaluation of the impact of traditional healers in the treatment of noma in Mali; prioritisation and implementation of noma treatment within MSF; and the definitions of stages of noma, proposed by a members’ working group.
  • 26-27 septembre 2014 : 12th General Assembly (minutes in french) and 13th Roundtable (minutes in french), the presentation of the pilot project on policy dialogue in Burkina Faso, the discussions around the noma poster presented by MSF, and the collaboration between Sentinelles, Ensemble pour Eux and Physionoma during the surgical mission organised at the end of 2013 by Dr. Brigitte Pittet-Cuénod from the university hospital of Geneva were the highlights of this meeting.
  • 27-28 September 2013 : 11th General Assembly (Minutes GA INNF 2013), with the attendance of 25 associations, and 12th Roundtable (Minutes RT INNF 2013), with the attendance of Doctors Without Borders and Mercy Ships, the recorded noma cases increase in Niger and the surgical treatment of noma at HUG by AEMV surgeons.
  • 28-29 September 2012: 10th General Assembly (Minutes GA INNF 2012), with a record attendance of 30 associations, and 11th Roundtable (Minutes RT INNF 2012) with the special participation of Jean Ziegler, Vice-Chairman of the Advisory Council for Human Rights, and H.E. Vokouma Prosper, Ambassador of Burkina Faso to Switzerland as well as to the UN in Geneva.
  • 7-8 October 2011: 9th General Assembly (Minutes GA INNF 2011) in which the statutory categories of membership were newly defined, and 10th Roundtable (Minutes RT INNF 2011) featuring the presentation of numerous projects combatting noma, as well as a study assessing the impact of noma surgery sequelae on children’s social integration.
  • 1-2 October 2010: 8th General Assembly (Minutes in french GA INNF 2010), with discussions on a draft for new statutes, and 9th Roundtable (Minutes in french RT INNF 2010), with the announcement of the re-launch of the collaboration between WHO and Winds of Hope.
  • 30-31 October 2009: 7th General Assembly (Minutes GA INNF 2009), with presentations on the projects funded by the Noma Day, and 8th Roundtable (Minutes RT INNF 2009).
  • 5-6 september 2008 : 6th General Assembly and 7th Roundtable.
  • 7-8 septembre 2007 : 5th General Assembly and 6th Roundtable.
  • 8-9 septembre 2006 : 8-9 September 2006: 4th General Assembly and 5th Round Table, with the decision to organize the first World Noma Day in 2008.
  • 7-8 septembre 2005 : 3rd General Assembly and 4th Roundtable.
  • 8-9 September 2004: 2nd General Assembly and 3rd Roundtable.
  • 20 March 2003: Creation of the International NoNoma Federation at the 2nd Round Table.
  • First International Roundtable bringing together the key NGOs fighting noma.
AG FINN 2015 - copie
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
AG & TR IMG_1066

Partners

All costs related to the organization of the Annual General Meetings and Roundtables are fully covered by the Winds of Hope Foundation’s partners. Thanks to the unwavering support of Breitling and Victorinox these meetings have been held without interruption every year since 2002. On behalf of all the members of the Federation, we would like to thank them warmly.

breitling1

Breitling is a recognized leader in the manufacture of time-measuring instruments especially for aeronautics. After sponsoring B. Piccard and B. Jones for their non-stop round-the-world balloon flight in the Breitling Orbiter 3, Breitling supported both pilots when they founded Winds of Hope and since then have continue to share their combat against this forgotten disease. www.breitling.com

vi_400_080307

For over 200 years, Victorinox has been producing the famous “Swiss knives” as well as other pocket tools and knives. When they made their historic round-the-world flight, the two pilots needed to carry the largest possible number of tools for the lowest possible weight. The Victorinox multi-tool device fitted the bill perfectly. Thus, it became the 2 pilots’ daily working partner in the capsule of Orbiter 3, and since 1999 has remained their partner in the humanitarian adventure of Winds of Hope. www.victorinox.com

• c/o Winds of Hope Foundation 20 avenue de Florimont, 1006 Lausanne Suisse
  • +41 (0)21 320 77 22
  • info@nonoma.org

Assemblées générales et tables rondes

« Le droit à l’alimentation est un droit de l’Homme. Le noma est une violation du droit à l’alimentation. Nous tentons d’obtenir une résolution avec valeur normative du Conseil des Droits de l’Homme déclarant le noma en tant que violation des droits de l’Homme. Cette base normative est nécessaire pour lutter efficacement contre le noma. » Jean Ziegler

Assemblées générales et tables rondes

Origine

Depuis plusieurs années, la Fondation Winds of Hope finance et organise des tables rondes rassemblant l’ensemble des associations luttant contre le noma. Une trentaine d’organisations membres de la Fédération NoNoma se retrouvent ainsi chaque année l’espace de deux jours pour créer des synergies entre elles et renforcer leurs travaux respectifs dans les domaines de la prévention, détection, recherche, prises en charge médicales et chirurgicales, réhabilitation et réinsertion.

Les Assemblées générales et Tables rondes annuelles ne pourraient se tenir sans le financement des précieux partenaires de la fondation Winds of Hope : Breitling et Victorinox. Nous les remercions chaleureusement pour leur soutien indéfectible.

Historique

  • 23 et 24 septembre 2016 : 14e Assemblée générale avec la présence de 34 association et 15e Table ronde avec la présence pour la 1ère fois de Terre des Hommes. Un nouveau membre actif Avec Mali/Jura et un nouveau membre associé New Face. Points forts de la réunion : la présentation de l’outil de santé mobile de Terre des Hommes, la rétrospective de Médecins Sans Frontières sur leurs expériences et perspectives en matière de lutte contre le noma, l’état de la situation au Niger décrit par le responsable terrain Sentinelles Niger, les 1ères pierres posées de la maternité aux portes du Sahel, le rôle clef des tradipraticiens dans la prise en charge du noma au Mali.
  • 25-26 septembre 2015 : 13e Assemblée générale PV AG FINN 2015 et 14e Table ronde PV TR FINN 2015, avec pour la 1ère fois les présences de la Croix-Rouge  et de la Chaîne de l’Espoir devenue depuis membre partenaire de la Fédération. La mission chirurgicale de Sentinelles au Centre Persis, les activités de Sentinelles au Burkina, le projet de maternité aux portes du Sahel, l’évaluation de l’impact des tradipraticiens dans la prise en charge du noma au Mali, les priorités et la mise en oeuvre du noma au sein de MSF, les propositions de définitions des stades du noma par le groupe de travail ont été les points forts de cette réunion.
  • 26-27 septembre 2014 : 12e Assemblée générale PV AG FINN 2014 et 13e Table ronde PV TR FINN 2014, avec la présentation du projet pilote de dialogue politique au Burkina Faso, la discussion autour du projet d’affiche noma proposé par MSF et la collaboration Sentinelles, Ensemble Pour Eux et Physionoma lors de la mission chirurgicale fin 2013 du Prof. B. Pittet-Cuenod des Hôpitaux Universitaires à Genève.
  • 27-28 septembre 2013 : 11e Assemblée générale PV AG FINN 2013, avec la présence de 25 associations, et 12e Table ronde PV TR FINN 2013, avec les présences de Médecins Sans Frontières et Mercy Ships, la recrudescence constatée des cas de noma au Niger et la prise en charge chirurgicale du noma aux HUG par les chirurgiens d’AEMV.
  • 28-29 septembre 2012 : 10e Assemblée générale PV AG FINN 2012, avec la présence record de 30 associations, et 11e Table ronde PV TR FINN 2012 VF, avec la participation exceptionnelle de Jean Ziegler, Vice-Président du Conseil consultatif des Droits de l’Homme, et S.E. Prosper Vokouma, Ambassadeur du Burkina Faso auprès de la Suisse et de l’ONU à Genève.
  • 7-8 octobre 2011 : 9e Assemblée générale PV AG FINN 2011, avec une nouvelle définition des catégories de membres dans les statuts, et 10e Table ronde PV TR FINN 2011, avec la présentation de nombreux projets de lutte contre le noma et d’une étude évaluant l’impact de la chirurgie des séquelles du noma sur l’intégration des enfants opérés.
  • 1er-2 octobre 2010 : 8e Assemblée générale PV AG FINN 2010, avec les discussions sur un projet de nouveaux statuts et 9e Table rondePV TR FINN 2010, avec l’annonce de la relance de la collaboration de l’OMS et de Winds of Hope.
  • 30-31 octobre 2009 : 7e Assemblée générale PV AG FINN 2009, avec les présentations des projets financés par le Noma Day, et 8e Table ronde PV TR FINN 2009.
  • 5-6 septembre 2008 : 6e Assemblée générale et 7e Table ronde.
  • 7-8 septembre 2007 : 5e Assemblée générale et 6e Table ronde.
  • 8-9 septembre 2006 : 4e Assemblée générale et 5e Table ronde avec la décision d’organiser en 2008 la première journée mondiale du noma.
  • 7-8 septembre 2005 : 3e Assemblée générale et 4e Table ronde.
  • 8-9 septembre 2004 : 2e Assemblée générale et 3e Table ronde.
  • 20 mars 2003 : Création de la Fédération Internationale NoNoma lors de la 2e Table ronde.
  • 21 mars 2002 : Première Table ronde internationale réunissant les principales ONG luttant contre le noma.
AG FINN 2015 - copie
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
AG & TR IMG_1066

Partenaires

Tous les coûts liés à l’organisation des Assemblées générales et des tables rondes annuelles de la Fédération sont intégralement pris en charge par les deux précieux partenaires de la fondation Winds of Hope. Ainsi, grâce au soutien indéfectible de Breitling et Victorinox, ces dernières ont eu lieu sans interruption chaque année depuis 2002. Au nom de tous les membres de la Fédération nous tenons à les remercier chaleureusement .

breitling1

Breitling est un leader reconnu dans la fabrication d’instruments de mesure du temps destinés particulièrement à l’aéronautique. Après avoir été sponsor de B. Piccard et B. Jones pour leur tour du monde sans escale en ballon avec le Breitling Orbiter 3, Breitling a soutenu les deux pilotes lorsqu’ils ont fondé Winds of Hope et partage depuis leur lutte contre cette maladie oubliée. www.breitling.com

vi_400_080307

Victorinox fabrique depuis plus de 200 ans, les fameux « couteaux suisses » ainsi que d’autres outils de poche et des couteaux Lors de leur tour du monde historique, les 2 pilotes avaient pour impératif d’obtenir le plus grand nombre d’outils pour un poids minimal, condition que l’outil multiple Victorinox remplit parfaitement. C’est ainsi qu’il est devenu le partenaire quotidien des 2 pilotes dans la capsule de l’Orbiter 3, puis  depuis 1999 leur partenaire dans l’aventure humanitaire  de Winds of Hope. www.victorinox.com